Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

First time using a feeder.

Old 01-24-2008, 01:47 PM
Typical Buck

Default First time using a feeder.

I just ordered a corn feeder and it should be in by January 31st which works out great because that's my birthday. However, I've never used one before. I'm hoping to draw in some deer and turkey to my land but could use some advice. How often should I let it feed and for how many seconds? Will it take time for the game to get used to it? How much corn will it go through in a month? Thanks for your input.

BP
Old 01-24-2008, 04:47 PM

Default RE: First time using a feeder.

if the season is out where you are, i would set it up to go off about 1-2 hours before dark for 20sec each time. if it holds 2 bags it should last about a week mabey. after you fill it back up the deer will be use to it then i would cut back to 10sec to make it last longer. youll notice that when you run out the deer will tear the gound up trying to get more. just give em enough to keep em coming back. also. if the battary goes deaddont be lazy like i did and let it set up there all summer w/o getting the corn out. im not gonna even begin to explain how nasty it was and what all was in there
Old 01-24-2008, 07:00 PM
Nontypical Buck