Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

FeedPlot

Old 07-14-2007, 06:07 AM
Fork Horn

Default FeedPlot

Howdy,

I've got a new place to bowhunt and have an opportunity to put a feed plot on the property but I'm looking for some advice on what sort of seed to use. This property has about 100 acres of corn directly to my west, small scrub woods/timber to the north and south and a 1 acre pond right next to the center of the corn field..........tought to desribe without a map.

Anyways, I'd like to plant a plot of about 1/4-1/2 acre right below the pond which is a weeded area but open to plenty of sunlight. This would be directly up against the fencerow to the cornfield where I have observed deer travelling in the header rows.

Thoughts or suggestions anyone?

I'm new to the whole foodplot deal,

Thanks,
Old 07-14-2007, 07:51 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: FeedPlot

I hear that deer are crazy about white clover, so that would be a good idea, since you'll be competing with a corn field. There was an article in Deer & Deer Hunting magazine about why deer eat what they eat. They said white clover is very good, don't recall much being said about redclover, though.
Old 07-14-2007, 06:55 PM
Boone & Crockett

If you can hunt on or near the corn I would offer the farmer some money to leave 3 or 4 rows of the corn standing.
Old 07-17-2007, 11:05 PM

you should try antlerkings mini-max it grows with little tilling I just spray roundup wait for the weeds to die and wrack it and plant mini-max the deer hammer this seed and they get alot bigger and fater
Old 07-18-2007, 12:49 AM
Fork Horn

I would try to hunt next the corn this year, might be kinda hard to compete with the corn.
Old 07-18-2007, 05:59 AM
Giant Nontypical