Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

The Deer woods vs. Dogs????

Old 11-30-2006, 07:42 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default The Deer woods vs. Dogs????

I'm in my eleventh year of gun hunting and nineth of bowhunting and I've seen and dealt with a lot of things, but not this one. This weekend is the opening day of shotgun season in Iowa. I just moved to Iowa, so this is my first year hunting it (I used to live in Wisconsin).

I have the opportunity to hunt two different properties. One of the properties has betterstructure for deer vs. the other piece of property but I wonder about 'the dogs'. When I walked around the property with the landowner, he brought his six dogs. They aren't poodles, these are 1/2 pitbull dogs and the run crazy through the land chasing everything. I seen them chase squirrels on the ground up a tree, the chased coon, they actually caught a coon and killed it. The landowner said he walkes the dogs around the woods 3-4 times a week.

So my question is: how do you think this affects the deer? Do you think they are used to it? Avoid the property? Do you think it is worth hunting opening morning?

I have to add that I gained access to this land a week before opening day, so other than walking around with the landowner, I didn't get a chance to scout and look for sign myself.

So what do you think?
Old 11-30-2006, 09:58 AM

Default RE: The Deer woods vs. Dogs????