Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

How do you hang a tree stand?

Old 08-10-2006, 04:56 PM

Default How do you hang a tree stand?

I'm a newbie to the forum, and relatively new to hunting. This will be my 3rd season.

I have a hang on tree stand, but I have never hung one. I bought some climbing sticks, but how do you get the stand 15 feet up? I heard that there are puleys that can be used to hoist the stand up, but I haven't been able to find one. Can anyone give me some tips?

Thanks!
Old 08-10-2006, 06:25 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: How do you hang a tree stand?

The best way I have found is to wear a full body harness with the teatherstrap around the tree and attached totherings at yourhips. This allows you to stand on your quick sticks and have both hands free. Then you attach a rope to the stand and climb up your quick sticks. When you get to the top you pull the stand up to you and attach it to the tree.

One more quick note, I also take extra ratchet straps and use them to secure the stand to the tree. This makes the stand extremely solid!!
Old 08-10-2006, 06:26 PM

Bring a friend with bad memory
Old 08-10-2006, 06:30 PM
Giant Nontypical

I'm sure every body has their own way of putting their stands up but whats works for me is to have a long rope.
As I put my climbing sticks up section by section and making sure that the sticks are frimly attached to the tree.
I have one end of the rope tied to the stand and the other tied around my waiste, as I reach the top of my climbing stick I just pull my stand up and attache it to the tree.
Don't forget while you are putting your sticks and stands, ALWAYS wear a safety harness or lineyard it would be very hard to work without one.
Old 08-11-2006, 08:39 AM