Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

Need A Little Help

Old 11-30-2005, 06:30 PM
Typical Buck

Default Need A Little Help

This is my first year hunting for deer. I bought a very nice bow and am pretty good at it in shooting targets. I have a few friends who hunt, so i have been going out with them, filming, trying to learn the ropes. I have unfortuanley not been able to get a good shot yet. It seems like every time i go, we barely see anything. I realize, patience is key, and i plan on being out there every saturday till the end of season, but will things improve? Any pointers you guys have would be great. Also, what are some techniques for stalking deer, i tried that today, and we flushed a few up, but were still unable to get a shot. Finally, since i rely on my friends land for places to hunt, how can i find a place to hunt, where i can go alone, would it be best to just find a farm and ask?

any other tips yall have would be highly appreciated. THanks
Old 11-30-2005, 07:00 PM

Default RE: Need A Little Help

Not sure what kinda terrain you hunt in but I've stood on stumps and
watched treelines, traveling zones, draws, game trails..etc. As for stalking, I
always wore the "softer" soled shoes/boots. Stalking takes a while, folks
usually want to "get there"...wherever there is real fast like. TAKE YOUR TIME!!!
1-3 soft steps, look with your eyes, slowly moving your head to meet the eyes.
Dont move suddenly. Spend 1-3 minutes doing this and move on.
"Grid" out the area your hunting. Not only in your effective
range but at greater distances also.
Hope this may help in some way. Good luck and good hunting.

Get permission when youcan. Be courteous, shake hands, and introduce yourself.
1-3 places if you can
Hit the Bowhunting Forums for some more info.
Old 11-30-2005, 07:17 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Need A Little Help