Community
Whitetail Deer Hunting Gain a better understanding of the World's most popular big game animal and the techniques that will help you become a better deer hunter.

stand height

Old 09-06-2005, 03:59 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default stand height

I found this old stand thats only 9'. I dont really want to spend the money on a new stand. Is this stand to short? I am a college student I am a bit short on cash right now. Plus I already brought a new stand this year after my stand from the same woods was stolen.
Old 09-06-2005, 04:10 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: stand height

i guess it would be a personal thing. i for 1 would think its to short. but i like being atleast 12-15 feet minimum. what kind of stand is it?? ladder? must be some way you could rig it up cheap to get higher.
Old 09-06-2005, 08:26 PM
Nontypical Buck

I have seen them pretty low in my time, even lower than nine feet. My hunting buddy killed a doe from a stump that was not even three feet off the ground. He put his bucket on there and sat for an hour and a half and shot a doe. As for myself, I dont like hunting very low. I prefer atleast 15 feet and in my climber I will hit thirty. I have been up that high when the wind starts and I must say it gets pretty hairy. You better have balls of steel when you get up in to that range. So my college friend I would recommend that you pass on about your next ten 12 packs and buy something you can use.
Old 09-06-2005, 08:54 PM

15 feet is the min for me. anything lower the deer will be able to spot you. I personally try to sit at about 18 feet.
Old 09-06-2005, 09:04 PM

usually 15-20ft for me there has never been a need to go higher but if 9ft is all you have then thats all you have. Just look for good cover, good luck.
Old 09-06-2005, 09:46 PM

I usually like to be 15-20ft. If it is possible and I am in one of my climbers, I will hit 30'.