Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > West
Utah Elk & Deer Hunt Permits >

Utah Elk & Deer Hunt Permits

West MT, CO, WY, NM, NV, UT, CA, ID, WA, OR, AZ, HI, AK

Utah Elk & Deer Hunt Permits

Old 01-10-2010, 07:14 PM
Spike

Default Utah Elk & Deer Hunt Permits

Ok, so I am completely new to hunting, tried to read the Utah Big Game guidebook and my head is spinning. I want to hunt elk and possibly deer. It appears that the Bull Elk permits are part of the big game drawing? Can you get a permit the first year you try? Does it take a couple of years to draw the permit? How does it work?!?!? Also buck deer permits, how does that draw work? I am a resident of Utah.
Old 01-10-2010, 10:40 PM
Giant Nontypical

I'm a non resident, but apply in utah for their limited entry elk units, ie the elk units with big elk!

I believe it's POSSIBLE to draw your 1st year, though highly unlikely, as a non-res I think I'm looking at 10years before I draw....if not longer.

I think a res, or anyone for that matter can hunt spike bull elk annually...but limited entry units for big elk take some time....probably more likely to draw sooner as a res I assume...
Old 01-28-2010, 02:46 PM
Spike

It depends on what Elk tags you are talking about. If its a general Bull Elk tag then they are over the counter, depending on the unit you choose you can hunt either spike only units or any bull units. There are only a handfull of any bull units and they tend to have low numbers and tough hunting to say the least, but with enough scouting and time spent learning the areas it is very possible to kill a bull. The spike units are basically all the limited entry units but all you can shoot are spikes unless you archery hunt then cows are legal as well.