WY weather Region R? >

WY weather Region R?

Community
West MT, CO, WY, NM, NV, UT, CA, ID, WA, OR, AZ, HI, AK

WY weather Region R?

Old 10-02-2007, 07:25 AM
Fork Horn

Default WY weather Region R?

[blockquote]I'll be hunting Region R for the opener on the 15th and I am hoping someone will give me some information on local weather conditions. I will be hunting the southern end of the unit between Tensleep and Greybull. On past hunts in the area I've seen a lot more and better bucks when there has been significant snowfall up in the Cloud Peak Wilderness.
Would anyone care to share an update? Any information will be greatly appreciated.
[/blockquote]
Old 10-02-2007, 07:11 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: WY weather Region R?

I'll be in regoin R alsoon the 15th. Still haven't decided the exact spot but may be at the top of the zone map around Shell. Did you get BLMmaps from the Worland office? This is my first time hunting in the Big Horn's and don't know what to expect. I do know what the others posted about the weather though, bring fall and winter clothing! We are staying in a slide in camper with all the amenities and have the option of moving from thehunt area without worrying about fiding lodging. I am sort of wishing we pushed it off a little until the snows come because of the whole winter range thing but I'm sure you will still see deer. This is my first DIY mulie hunt out West and I am starting to question my abilities as far as finding game out there since its a whole different ball game compared to back East! Are you doing a DIY? I was in the upper Medicine Bow last year lope and coyote hunting and spotted TONS of deer in the valleys and semi plains area. But from whatI understand this area is a totally different way of hunting mostly because of the rough terrain. I also may bring the fly rod just in case but don't even know if it is worth it?
Old 10-02-2007, 09:32 PM