Community
Waterfowl Hunting Receive the benefit of experienced duck and goose hunters in this waterfowl forum.

Clean some geese

Old 12-14-2006, 10:03 PM

Default Clean some geese

Hi, I have a question, but first While I have been hunting for many many years. I have never had to clean a goose. While I have raised chickend and had to clean them out as well as wild Turkey (which i just skin).I have been asked to shoot some geese at a friends house as when his pond freezes over the coyoties come and kill his geese he informed me that i could shoot them and I could have 1/2 of them. I just have to clean them. These are all tame geese including egg raised canadan geese. All were raised by him so no laws will be broken in taking any of these. I plan on using a 22 to shoot them in the head and then just skin them. Is this the best way to clean one out?
Old 12-15-2006, 08:43 AM

Default RE: Clean some geese

shoot the coyoties
Old 12-15-2006, 05:20 PM
Nontypical Buck

I skin my geese if not to shot up
Quick and simple if still warm .

Cut the wings off around the first joint .
Tree trimming loppers work great
Cut off the feet at the joint , cut around the joint , bend the joint and cut conecting tisue
Cut off head 1/2 way down the neck .
A set of tree trimming loppers work great

Make aslit just thru the skin on the back , not into the meat .
Open it up so you can stick your fingers into the slit
Peel like like a orange , using a knife when needed .
Just work your fingers between the skin and meat , cut off skin sections as they get in the way
Many times I don't need the knike except to remove skin sections

Trim oil glad area off with the fat around the anus area

When done trim wing to joint at the body

I know do it a little different than many

I make a cut from the butt to almost the neck down the back .
I use a set of poultry / kitchen shears
Open the chest from the back and remove gutts

Remove any blood shot meat

Wash off