Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
New Turkey Hunter (Maryland) - Reading Maps for hunts? >

New Turkey Hunter (Maryland) - Reading Maps for hunts?

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

New Turkey Hunter (Maryland) - Reading Maps for hunts?

Old 03-14-2019, 02:38 AM
Spike

Question New Turkey Hunter (Maryland) - Reading Maps for hunts?

Hey all,

Let me start off by saying I am new to hunting. I have done a few upland bird hunts, but the birds were placed in the field so I am unsure if I should consider that "hunting". Either way, I caught hunting fever and want to do something more challenging.

I have been prepping for the upcoming turkey spring season. Got all my gear and I've been reading forums, articles, and watching plenty of videos.

My buddies and I go on a camping trip to Green Ridge State Forest in Maryland every year. From what I found, its one of the more popular places to hunt turkey in Maryland. Not really great, but its a place to start. One of my buddies is a avid deer hunter. He is going to join me. He has never been turkey hunting though, so it will be new for both of us.

Now, for the real question... WHERE SHOULD I HUNT? I know no one is going to give me their specific location of where they hunt there, but I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction. I know I need to using my turkey locator calls to find em, but i need a good place to start!

If I look at the map, what should I look for? If you look at google maps, what would you choose?

I have been using Google Maps to check the terrain at Green Ridge State Forest.

Any tips are appreciated!
Attached Thumbnails New Turkey Hunter (Maryland) - Reading Maps for hunts?-green-ridge-map.png  
Old 03-14-2019, 11:30 AM
Nontypical Buck

I've turkey hunted Green Ridge before...with some success.