Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
New to huntingnet, and to Turkey Hunting >

New to huntingnet, and to Turkey Hunting

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

New to huntingnet, and to Turkey Hunting

Old 02-13-2010, 08:21 AM
Spike

Default New to huntingnet, and to Turkey Hunting

I am new to Huntingnet, and to Turkey hunting.
Any tips for a newbe, I Thank you in advance.

Like how to scout, and when to scout.
And how to set up.
Any Tips you have, and what not to do.

Thank You Manny.Beards
Old 02-13-2010, 10:22 AM
Super Moderator

Welcome to the forums.
Old 02-13-2010, 01:57 PM
Typical Buck

Default Scouting

Welcome

Where do you plan to hunt?
I hunt the Rocky's, so the following is what works here, some things may be different in other states.

I get in the woods and scout about a month before the season starts. I suggest you check out your local DOW web site they have a lot of info like harvest #s in each county etc. at least here in Colorado they do. Ask around at your local sporting goods store etc. Check out other posts on this site there is a lot of helpful info here from hunters all over.
When you locate a general area holding turkeys get your topo out and locate ridges with E or S facing slopes with water nearby. ( some areas hold water that are not on maps). Turkeys roost on E and S sides to be protected from N. storms and wind and to get the early morning sun.
Get a locater call (owl or coyote call works for me), call after dark you should be able to locate the roost, be there early and learn where they go after fly down, know there feeding area, strutting zones and travel routs. Now you know where to hunt.

Good luck! Stay legal and be safe.
Old 02-14-2010, 12:39 PM
Spike