Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Season is over and I am moving too.  Some reflections. >

Season is over and I am moving too. Some reflections.

Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Season is over and I am moving too. Some reflections.

Old 04-30-2003, 07:27 AM

Default Season is over and I am moving too. Some reflections.

I am a United Methodist pastor and must move across the state in June. The folks here introduced me to turkey hunting 3 years ago and I will be eternally grateful. In those three years I have taken 9 longbeards including 4 this year---so as you can see this area is full of birds. While I enjoy taking the birds---that was not the most meaningful aspect of turkey hunting for me.

First, it got me back into the woods. I grew up in east Tennessee and hunted squirrels and rabbits as a teenager. A first career in the Navy took me away from the woods for 30 some years. I will turn 50 this year and have gained a greater love for the outdoors than ever before.

Second, (OK I' m a pastor---so standby), there is something deeply spiritual about turkey hunting. To walk into the woods in total darkness and silence has often reminded me of lifelessness and hopelessness. But then to have a new day breaking, full of spring colors and the sounds of God' s creation coming to life for yet another day---a reminder of how we all can be renewed in spirit and live with hope--full of life. Of course there is NOTHING like an ole Tom sounding off close by to renew anybody' s spirit. But turkey hunting is not all about turkeys---it is being in the midst of and enjoying the wonder of God' s great creation.