Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Turkey Hunting
 Still trying for my first longbeard!! Any Suggestions?? >

Still trying for my first longbeard!! Any Suggestions??

Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Still trying for my first longbeard!! Any Suggestions??

Old 05-02-2009, 03:26 PM
Fork Horn

Default Still trying for my first longbeard!! Any Suggestions??

I have been hunting the appalachain foothills of WV for 10 YEARS without having killed a longbeard and I am trying to change that this season. Last week was the first week and I have hunted every day except for one. The first day I could've got a shot on one but I was convinced that he was "hung up" and then when I got up to try to move closer there he was and he busted me (thats the short version of the story). The second day, I saw and heard nothing in a different location.......... Every other day execpt for the second day I have hunted the same hollow as the first day and have seen or heard many birds, but they always either have hens with them, or they show up at the top of the mountian and I am at the bottom and they will not come down.