Community
Turkey Hunting Whether it's spring or fall doesn't matter to this bunch. Great tips on calling, bustin flocks, using blinds and more.

Advice for a beginner

Old 07-02-2006, 01:06 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Advice for a beginner

Well, planning a hunt in Idaho Unit 31 next spring. This will be all on public land, or private land with pre-existing public access (walk in areas designated by the state). I have decided I will start getting some gear this fall/winter to be ready and have all the bugs worked out. I plan to keep things simple.A couple decoys, 2 hens and a Jake, and no more than 3 calls. I am thinking a box call would be good, as well as a diaphram call for when the bird gets in close, and I need to catch it's attention for the shot. I like Primos calls for elk. How are they for turkeys? I have a book on turkey hunting, will probably get one or two more in time. I have the information on the areas, but will be calling the biologist here soon.

I have no experience hunting turkeys, so it should be interesting. I think I will also apply for the limited tags here in NV next year, and hunt Nevada if I draw, and Idaho if I don't. Either way, I will still get the gear, and hunt turkeys next year one way or the other.

Thanks,

Marcial

Old 07-02-2006, 05:56 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Advice for a beginner

sounds like youre on the right track.....get a bobblehead decoy.....good luck......the only advice i think you need is to stay in the woods after everyone has left.....if youre not out there you wont be able to get one.......
Old 07-02-2006, 06:18 AM
Nontypical Buck