Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

It's Time

Old 01-10-2005, 04:10 PM

Default It's Time

I am finally ready to purchase a traditional bow. I have been shooting a compound bow for a year and 5 days, but I would like to try a traditional bow. I am not going to buy a new bow. I do not have a bowshop close to me so testing some out is not an option. I am going to purchase a used bow off of Ebay. Which type of bow should I get? Which brand should I get? What supplies do I need? Thanks for all of the help.
Old 01-10-2005, 09:28 PM

Default RE: It's Time

WELCOME my brother!!!

But I have to warn you, the addiction of these recurves\longbows can be long term. once you start flipping some arrows its just plain hard to put the bow down, I guess cause its such a challenge to try to put the arrow where you are looking on instinct. I started playing around with recurves couple years ago and now am hooked, hav'nt pumped more than probably 20 arrows from my compound.
As for what kind of bows on ebay, I would suggest maybe takig a look at the bear, pearson or martin recurves as they are good shooters. Get yourself a leather finger glove and an armguard and some arrows to match the weight of your bow and you are pretty much set, Good Luck and Haave Fun...RobinHood36>>>===========>

Oh yea, you might want to watch the movies King Arthur, Lord of the Rings, and The Last Samurai to get some pointers...
Old 01-10-2005, 09:36 PM

I hope it's not that confusing! I want to still use a compound bow but want to get started in stick bow. I guess I can get my new Bowtech bow and use that for next year. I will practice with my stick bow and when I'm good enough, say bye bye to Bowtech!
Old 01-10-2005, 09:51 PM