Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Traditional Archery
 Question for Traditional Hunters >

Question for Traditional Hunters

Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Question for Traditional Hunters

Old 09-12-2004, 04:41 PM

Default Question for Traditional Hunters

I just wanted to know if anyone else one there first hunt using Traditional Bow Missed. I shoot everyday and I'm hitting 6" at 20yards, On my Opening day of hunting for some reason ( May be Me ) My first arrow was way off. I'm thinking it was me just hurtying the shot. This is My first year/season using a recurve, The rest of the season I will stick with My recurve.
Old 09-12-2004, 05:04 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Question for Traditional Hunters

Yep, I missed a nice Mule Deer buck. I was standing on a rock formation looking down onto a small trail where I'd spotted some good sized buck tracks when scouting the area. That didn't mean he'd be back, but those were the only tracks, so I stood watch one morning. Sure enough, there he was. I had him dead to rights, only problem with that scenario was that I didn't practice the shot prior to making it and shot over the buck by several inches. That one hunt taught me to practice every conceivable shot that might occur. Being a ground hunter, I hadn't given any thought to practicing for a tree stand shot. I figure that I looked at the rack too, which probably had something to do with it too.
Old 09-12-2004, 05:33 PM
Dominant Buck

I'll have to let you know after opening day ,
this year will be my first to bow hunt .

Ironically , I'll be facing the same type of shooting situation that Wahya faced , time to break out treestand for some more practice . [8D]
Old 09-12-2004, 09:59 PM
LBR
Boone & Crockett

Missed my first shot with a compound, and my first two with a longbow--I should have been able to make all three with my eyes closed, and all three were clean misses. Just try to remember what you did wrong and correct it next time.