Community
Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Gripping a recurve ?

Old 01-30-2007, 07:29 PM

Default Gripping a recurve ?

I started shooting a recurve a couple of months ago . I'm shooting "fingers" with a flipper rest . It's been cold , icy , and snowy here in Colorado , so I havn't been able to get out and do alot of shooting lately . My question is - should I grip the recurve the same as I do my compound ? Barely holding the bow with my left hand , and let it fall forward after the shot . Or , ,, should I be gripping the recurve differently ? ,,, harder ? Thanks . For what it's worth - I'm pretty ignorant on proper form and shooting technique when it comes to a traditional bow . Thanks again for any help .
Old 01-30-2007, 07:30 PM
bigcountry

Default RE: Gripping a recurve ?

I hold recurve and longbow with a low wrist grip. My fingers curl around the bow and catch it, but I am not gripping the bow.

Old 01-30-2007, 07:39 PM

Yep , you don't want to grip the bow same principle as compound.
Old 01-31-2007, 04:13 AM
Nontypical Buck

I tend to use a high wrist grip.Otherwise I have a tendence to torquethe bow by slight variations in my grip. I wrap just my forefinger and thumb around thegrip a la Fred Asbell to keep it in my hand and point the rest of my fingers straight forward.
Old 01-31-2007, 07:01 AM

I balk against conventional thinking ........ hold the bow the way that feels natural to ou. Do it the same way every time and you'll shoot find.
Old 01-31-2007, 07:14 AM
Giant Nontypical

I used to use the Asbell style high wrist grip. Shot very well like that too. But, as the years rolled by, I've gotten arthritis in the joints and it's not so easy to use that grip any more. Going to a medium to low wrist grip not only helped ease the pain but it also decreased my draw length from 33" to 31". And that was a good thing for me.