Traditional Archery Talk Trad-bows here!

Lining up the shot

Old 03-03-2006, 09:21 PM

Default Lining up the shot

How do you go about lining up your shots?? i pretty much guess and was wondering if you did the same or if you had some sort of system? I consistantly put them in the 8" cicle but want smaller groups.
Old 03-04-2006, 05:29 AM

Default RE: Lining up the shot

I am just starting out in Trad Instinctive shooting, but have shot compund for 20 + years. I been reading books and asking questions like crazy and what I found work best for me is to start from only about 5' from my bag target. I focus on the smallest spot on the target, draw, release. I did this for probably 300 - 400 shots and At only 5' i was able to get my groups down to about 3" or less, I then went out to 10' and started the same process again till my groups were consistently 4" or less. I just moved out to 15' feet. For me it becomes getting the feel for the right spot and just repeating the same thing over and over and over a couple hundred times, till it just becomes natural. Then I move out farther and do it again.
Each day when I go to shoot. I start out at 5', shoot 5 or 10 and then move out to 10' and then 15'. It will not be to long before I run out of room in my basement, but hopefully It will warm up outside soon and I can head out there.
Again I am new to this and from what I read and the advice I received. This worked best so far for me. Good luck
Old 03-04-2006, 06:39 AM
Giant Nontypical

The main thing is to work out an anchor that puts the nock end of the arrow directly under your master eye. That's a given, I guess. Then, as for what I do... Even though I am concentrating on the spot I want to hit, I still see the arrow in my peripheral vision and I use it. I line up the tip with the target. With the tail of the arrow directly under my eye and the tip pointing directly at the target, it has to fly down the middle.