Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 ( MAKING ARROWS & NEED ADVICE ) >

( MAKING ARROWS & NEED ADVICE )

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

( MAKING ARROWS & NEED ADVICE )

Old 01-27-2005, 04:55 PM

Default ( MAKING ARROWS & NEED ADVICE )

I would like to begin making my own arrows. However, I have never done it before and there appears to be alot of things to consider. Though I will need to purchase an arrow saw, the process of cutting the shafts to length appears to be a no brainer. Fletching on the other hand seems to be much more involved. When I started looking at the different fletching jigs, I realized there are several options. Though many jigs are adjustable for straight, right helical and left helical, I am not sure which I should use and what are the differences regarding advantages and/or disavantages of each? I also noticed that some have the ability to offset any where from 2 degrees - 11 degrees. Furthermore, some can three fletch 120 degrees, four fletch 90 degrees or four fletch 75 degrees x 105 degrees. Here again, I am not sure what I should be using, what the differences are between them and there effects on arrow flight? What type and/or model of fletching jig should I be looking for? Do I also need a nock alignment tool as well? I need A quick crash course in arrow construction 101!

I would greatly appreciate any thoughts, comments or advice?

PS: Currently Shooting Beman ICS Hunter 400 @ 28" With Three Feathers
Arrows Primarily Used For Hunting But Thingking About 3-D Shooting

Thanks Again, Ron
Old 01-27-2005, 06:29 PM

Default RE: ( MAKING ARROWS & NEED ADVICE )

A few pointers;
-Be very careful not to inhale the dust when cutting carbon arrows!! It is very bad for you as it can lodge in your lungs.