Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Shorter ATA Bows? >

Shorter ATA Bows?

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Shorter ATA Bows?

Old 01-20-2005, 10:00 PM

Default Shorter ATA Bows?

I'm kind of new to the whole bow thing and am getting conflicting advice from the 5-6 obw people at the proshops I have gone to ranging from things from cam style to loops to brace heights and a whole bunch of other things. Most of these I really feel have to do with they are trying to sell me one brand over another or convince me that the brand tehy sell is the best. I can pretty much pick apart that pretty easy. What I am having a hard time over is ATA stuff. I have one guy telling me that at 6 feet I shouldn't even consider a bow under 34 ATA which knocks a lot of bows out there and I have another couple guys telling me that the bows with the parrel limbs tend to be a bit more stable even at shorter ATA's because their riser is longer. Is there anything to this or is this just a sales man trying to make a sale? I am not experienced enough to really tell much when I test shoot a bow. Yeah, I can feel for recoil and listen to sound and see how fast it flies and how smooth it feels but the other stuff.. Is a bit beyond me. Thanks for any help.
Old 01-20-2005, 10:24 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Shorter ATA Bows?

They are both correct. Sorry but it's true.

Taller archers usually shoot longer bows a bit better than the extremely short bows. At long draw lengths of 30+ inches the string angle becomes very extreme at full draw.

Yes the longer riser bows do put more weight out farther from the bows center which makes them more stable then they use to be.