Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 It Doesn't make sense! >

It Doesn't make sense!

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

It Doesn't make sense!

Old 01-16-2005, 09:25 AM

Default It Doesn't make sense!

I have been shooting fingers for over 20 years and have always used some sort of flipper / plunger combo. An have done so because of what I have been taught of the mechanics of arrow flight being shot with a finger release. In theory with the horizontal flexing (archers Paradox) of an arrow being released this way it all makes sense! NOW I hear there's finger drop-away rests being introduced into the market. Is it plausable to get a better release from this type of rest than the proven flipper/plunger?

I'm asking because I'm in the process of putting together a new set-up with a cavalier free flyte elite / master loc plunger combo as my rest an wonder if I should spend the bucks to try something different?

You know, in the back of my mind I feel as if the manufacturers are just trying to squeese every last buck out of you! Don't get me wrong, I don't knock innovation because we wouldn't have the equipment we have today without it but there is alot of junk out there too.
Old 01-16-2005, 09:49 AM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: It Doesn't make sense!

You know, in the back of my mind I feel as if the manufacturers are just trying to squeese every last buck out of you!
You said it.

TR is introducing this rest for 2005.[&:]

Now if the rest drops out of the way what difference could it possibly make how the arm is shaped. It's not there to make a difference any way. It's already droped away in the first 6 inches or so of arrow travel.

A finger released arrow flexes around the riser and needs the side pressure to keep it going straight.