Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Arrow  tracer " puffs" , anyone use them? >

Arrow tracer " puffs" , anyone use them?

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Arrow tracer " puffs" , anyone use them?

Old 08-29-2003, 08:08 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Arrow tracer " puffs" , anyone use them?

I see many people state they use white or bright fletch so they can see where the shot impacted the deer or target. Personally, this was never much help as you' re viewing the arrow from the tail end, not the side. If you arrow enters the target/deer straight, such fletch isn' t much help in my experience.

I' ve been considering using either white or red tracer/puff material that you adhere on the shaft between the fletch and nock. I can see where that would have a good chance at showing impact, but I have no experience with such things.

Do they weigh much and potentially mess with FOC? Do they interefere with arrow flight? Do they work as advertised?
Old 08-29-2003, 09:32 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Arrow tracer " puffs" , anyone use them?

I don' t know what kind you' re talking about. I' ve used some that are just split maribou feathers. They don' t weigh hardly any more than the glue you put them on with and they do show up well. They' re very fragile though and don' t last very long at all. Better used as decoration on a exhibition arrow than for real use, IMO.

I' ve also used some that were fake fur strips with peel and stick tape on the base. They work just as well and last far longer, but I haven' t seen any of those for a long, long time.

Really though, a flourescent nock shows does the same job, cheaper and with less work.
Old 08-29-2003, 09:38 AM
Nontypical Buck

Do you just turn the page in Cabela' s archery catalog and ask questions about each item? Just kidding!