Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Spine??????

Old 04-09-2003, 08:52 AM

Default Spine??????

I have been shooting Beman ICS hunter 400 shafts for a while now. These arrows are being shot out of a Legacy. My draw length is 29" and the arrows are 28" . My bow was set on 64 lbs. I had 4 inch feathers and 100 gr. feild points. Put perfect bullet holes through paper with the fletchings on and with a bareshaft.

Here is where the problems started. In order to obtain a little more speed I turned the poundage up to 72 ( the limbs are bottomed out). In order to compensate for the extra draw weight I went to an 80 gr point ( for the spine ). When I started shooting my groups were not that good. I was no longer able to shoot 4" groups at 40 yards. I decided to shoot it through the paper again. With the fletchings I got a slight left tear but I mean very slight. I then shot a bare shaft.........WHEW.... bad left tear. Immediately I thought my spine was too weak so I turned down the poundage which fixed the problem. Now most people would have stopped there and been happy but not me.

I checked the Beman web site to see if I had the correct arrow. The specified arrow for a hard cam, 72 lbs draw weight, and a 28" arrow is a Beman ICS Hunter 400. If this is the case, why the bad left tear? Are these charts not specific enough about the point weight being used? I don' t understand how a carbon arrow can be so underspined when the manufacturer specifies that arrow size.

Any thoughs?
Should I use an ICSH 340?
Old 04-09-2003, 08:58 AM

Default RE: Spine??????

If I remember right, the threshold area is right around 70# for the ICS. At that length and weight it may be a good idea to go with 340' s.

I shoot at 78 pounds and 29" draw. My arrows are only 27" long though. I' m using 340' s with my setup.