Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Feedback on my form? >

Feedback on my form?

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Feedback on my form?

Old 09-05-2008, 09:28 AM

Default Feedback on my form?

Folks, I am pretty new to archery, and although my practices have been mostly positive lately, I'd rather nip glaring problems in the bud now, rather than risk a bad hit on an animal for it to suffer because of my ignorance. I pride myself on never having lost a deer with a rifle, and never needing a followup shot. I believe I have accomplished this through lots of practice, and not taking irresponsible shots. I would like to do the same with my bow. So here is a pic- please be honest and let me know what is right and wrong with my form. Thanks, NRA

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v647/keljayem/Form.jpg
Old 09-05-2008, 09:35 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Feedback on my form?

Suck your gut in a little, it looks like you've enjoyed one too many Budweisers, the tatoos are a little over the top, but nothing worse than my sister has, and the hat appears to be a touch crooked.....

Actually, the form (archery wise) looks pretty good. Somebody is going to say you look like your leaning forward, or your bow arm is too straight, but it really don't look too bad. The forward lean may be because of the way you're engaging the target, and the bow arm is not that much of an issue as long as you're staying clear of string slap, keeping a consistent anchor, and not torquing the bow. Grip looks good, and DL looks right to me.

Now I could be wrong on this, but I'm willing to bet that your rest needs raised just a tiny amount. How does it group BH's compared to FP's??? If the BH's are LOW, I'm right.
Old 09-05-2008, 09:48 AM