Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 refletching tips and tricks >

refletching tips and tricks

Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

refletching tips and tricks

Old 10-16-2007, 02:49 PM

Default refletching tips and tricks

I was hoping to start a little thread about tips and tricks to fletching your own arrows. I am very new to fletching so I don't have any good advice but I know there are a lot of people on this site that have extensive knowledge in all aspects of our way of life. Right now I am wrapping arrows for the first time with what i think is pretty good results. I took everyone's advice and go the bitzenberger and though the directions weren't the greatest in the world I think I have gotten it down.
Old 10-16-2007, 03:52 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: refletching tips and tricks

Well...I like to put a drop of glue on each end of the Vane to keep iton better.....
Old 10-16-2007, 04:39 PM

Since I have a question also I thought this would be a good time to ask

What is the advantage/disadvantage of Wraps

Old 10-16-2007, 08:41 PM

One major advantage I have found is that if you screw up and have to take everything off the wrap leaves a whole lot less of a mess. Also makes it easier to track the flight of your arrow if you use bright colors. Couple downsides could be a slight increase in flight disturbance and a decrease in FOC. That is all i can think of but I am a newbie when it comes to fletching. I was wondering if anyone has good ideas for getting the old glue off of an arrow. I currently use paint thinner and a dull knife but that seems to take forever sometimes!
Old 10-17-2007, 06:48 AM
Fork Horn

ORIGINAL: indianahunter83

One major advantage I have found is that if you screw up and have to take everything off the wrap leaves a whole lot less of a mess.