Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Draw length variation ??? >

Draw length variation ???

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Draw length variation ???

Old 02-12-2007, 09:30 PM

Default Draw length variation ???

I have been shooting my Martin Lynx for abought 16 years or so with a 29 inch draw length .
I,m looking at finaly getting a new bow .
I had a bow shop recheck my draw length and they say 29 inches is right.
I checked on the web and one sight says to hold your arms out side to side parallel to the groung but slightly relaxed and measure them left middle finger tip to right middle finger tip and divied by 2 .
I tried this and I come up with 28 inches .
Whats right ???
I,ll be shooting with a release .
I also plan on having a horse shoe loop installed on the string .
Will this change anything ?
Appriciate any help ...
Old 02-12-2007, 09:59 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Draw length variation ???

You will get many that swear by that method.

I have found it to beless than accurate for all.There are many pros that shoot longer than the wingspan method would suggest,I shoot longer than the wingspan and I have had a level 4 coach help me with draw length,among other things.

As far as a loop,you will also get some that say the loop changes anchor,not draw length,I disagree with this and I think changing your anchor to accomidate a loop is a mistake(other thanSLIGHTmodifications).I believe you need to make the equipment fit you,not try and make you fit the equipment.

Heck,my draw length changes from release to release.The bow I currently shoot is about a 1/8"-1/4" long on draw with my wrist release but with my handheld and back tension,it is dead on.

I would suggest totry a bow set at 28 1/2" with a loop and see how you like it.My gut feeling is you will like it.