Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Technical
 Nock/Vane Alignment? >

Nock/Vane Alignment?

Community
Technical Find or ask for all the information on setting up, tuning, and shooting your bow. If it's the technical side of archery, you'll find it here.

Nock/Vane Alignment?

Old 09-02-2006, 09:44 PM
Fork Horn

Default Nock/Vane Alignment?

I have been shooting a crossbow for the past 2 years and wanted to get back into shooting my compund. I was at the pro shop last week and brought in an old arrow, he went over it taking the measurments etc. to have a dozen new ones cut. Has he was checking everything down, he said set them for shooting fingers, i said no i shoot with a release, using a shoot-thru rest.He mentioned the nock looked like it was alignedfor fingers. It was an old arrow, the nock was just loose and was moved. No problem. I just picked up the dozenarrows from my pro shop 45mins away, and it looks like he made them to shoot fingers. Can you tell by just looking at how the arrow is on the rest weather there proper or not? I wont be out to the range for a few more days, and dont really want to shoot the arrows if there wrong and I have to go back...

Old 09-02-2006, 09:45 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Nock/Vane Alignment?

Heres a pic looking down the arrow... if it makes any difference...

Old 09-02-2006, 10:11 PM
Fork Horn

That is a shoot through rest. The cockfeather should be down...thus, shoot through.....As it sits there now, you'll get fletch contact.
Old 09-02-2006, 10:27 PM
Giant Nontypical

yep...definently wrong. the cock vane must be centered to pass through the 2 prongs. the cock vane would be your white one. that way its easy to remember..white vane down. i cant tell if you have adjustable or glued in nocks though. if you do you can twist them and align them pretty easily. both times i had arrows done the shop didnt touch the nocks. i had to do it. but its not a big deal with adjustable nocks. just twist them.