Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > After The Hunt > Taxidermy
 Where do I start........ >

Where do I start........

Community
Taxidermy Tips and questions about taxidermy and the art of preserving the memory of your hunt.

Where do I start........

Old 04-03-2007, 12:21 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Where do I start........

I've always have had interest in taxidermy. I've been doing european mounts for 3 years now....but want to go a step farther. But I'll be honest.....I don't know a lot about taxidermy other than european mounts.

I have some knives and a basement.....what other 'taxidermy tools' do I need. I will also point out that this will be a hobby, not for a living. So I don't want to spend a lot of money. What other equiptment will I need to get started?

Where do I start? Some recommend books, other say videos, some even recommend classes. What do you think is the best step. Also, what books, videos, or schools do you recommend?

I see a lot of kits (example: WASCO). Are these kits a good start?

What kind of animal should I start with? Some say deer because they are bigger. Others say squirrels because the are plentiful. What do you think?

I've been spending some time at www.taxidermy.com and reading their forum. It is helpfull, but I still don't understand all the termonology? any advice/tips will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old 04-03-2007, 02:22 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Where do I start........

There is an enormous amount of info at taxi.net, but until you understand the terminology, I can see where it would be confusing. Before getting too far, get a video from WASCO or McKenzie that goes through the caping/fleshing steps completely. I think they each have at least one. Once you understand caping, fleshing, and turning, things will start to make more sense. The video will also help you decide what other tools you may want. Just a warning though, getting into taxidermy isn't cheap.
Old 04-03-2007, 02:54 PM
Nontypical Buck