Community
Sporting Dogs What's the best dog for what type of game? Find out what other hunters think.

Cur Question

Old 03-11-2007, 12:31 PM

Default Cur Question

Hello to all,
I have some questions about Cur's. I have been studing about Mountain Curs and Blackmouth Curs. I am looking for a new dog and the curs have caught my attention and am trying to find out if a cur breed is the best for me and my family.
I live on 52 acres in S.W. Montana bordering the Bitterroot National Forest. I have had several breeds over the years and all my dogs become constant companions. About two years ago after the demise of my last dog(a Doberman) I looked to get a new dog. I studied and narrowed it down to a rhodesian ridgeback, American Pitt Bull Terrier and a Rottweiller. Talking to ridgeback breeders, I shyed away because the breeders told me that because of all the elk, deer, and other game as well a neiboring cattle ranches the ridgebacks have a tendency to wander off and could get shot(dogs are fair game up here). The Pit, which seems like a very intellegent a loyal breed, my wife boycotted because of the reputation.
Anyway, I decided on the Rottweiller. I did much research on breeders as I wanted a good all purpose dog with good genetics for hearding, hunting, trailriding and family protection. I purchased a German rottweiller as an 8 week old puppy that's grandfather was Igor Von Mussendorf the #1 French ring champion Rottweiller ever. All his other bloodlines are also hearding, cart pulling, police protection and Sch III.