shooting distance >

shooting distance

Community
South VA, KY, AR, TN, OK, TX, LA, MS, AL, FL, NC, SC, GA

shooting distance

Old 11-11-2008, 03:32 PM
Spike

Default shooting distance

Hello to all. I got a newbe ? so take it easy on me.
I am new to crossbows and have a hard time understanding shooting distance.
If you are on the ground 20 yds= 60 feet
but if you are up a tree 15 ft and a deer 60 feet out that would=105 feet=35yds.
I try this tonight from my porch 10 feet up block at 50 feet out I use my setting for 20 yds because it looked like that and I was realy on but if you do the math it would be 40 yards ? What am I missing? I dont have the money for a range finder right now (still in school) so any advice. Thanks

Horton 150 carbon with fieldtip and single red dot scope.
Old 11-11-2008, 03:58 PM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: shooting distance

Hye partner..I still think 20 yds up a tree is still the same as 20 yds on the ground..I practiced alot this year from an older bow,,,my arrow stayed true on the mark no matter if I was in the ttree or on the ground..

IMHO Your arrow is still going 20 yds no matter if it's from the tree trunk or 15 feet up the trunk..
Old 11-11-2008, 04:17 PM
Fork Horn

You absolutely want to practice from a tree stand, or even your deck. At any given distance gravity has an effect on an arrow...when shooting from an angle, gravity has less of an effect. The reason is because the trajectory is determined by the horizontal distance the arrow travels, not the overall distance. When shooting at steep angles wether up or down, aiming for the exact distance could be a mistake, since measurement may actually be considerably larger than the horizontal distance. at steep angles, you must learn to compensate by aiming low.