Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 shooting distance? >

shooting distance?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

shooting distance?

Old 08-22-2005, 09:24 AM
Fork Horn

Default shooting distance?

as i sighted my bow in this year i stepped off the yardage all the way up to 30 yards in my perspective... but i mustve stepped it off wrong...i am bad on guessin yardage...i went to a football scrimmage last week and realized that wat i thought was 30 yards was actually around 50.......i've been shootin all summer and i can group pretty tight kill shots at fifty yards and under...So i am no expert on bows as i am only 15 and only been shooting for a couple year...but to you experienced guys i was just wanting to kno if i should limit my yardage to 30 yards? or if my 50 would be an ethical shot since i am accurate at that yardage and the arrows still penetrate deep into the target?...long question but thx for reading plz give me some opinions...
Old 08-22-2005, 09:32 AM

Default RE: shooting distance?

This is a very good question and it is smart that you ask...

First of all...if you take normal long strides, like you see a ref at a football game do, you will be pretty close in accuracy, so your initial 30 yard estimate might be correct. Also, when you are in a different environement, the way the yardage looks may be off, hence, why you think it might be closer to 50 yards. I bet your first guess is correct.

Next, when you are hunting, everything changes. Your setup, nerves, everything is different. You might be better limiting yourself to 30 yard shot on in. That is just one persons opinion. You will find that hitting a deer at 30 yards is a heck of a lot tougher than a target at 50.