Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Small Game, Predator and Trapping
 public land or private land for coyote? >

public land or private land for coyote?

Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

public land or private land for coyote?

Old 12-08-2004, 07:38 PM

Default public land or private land for coyote?

Hi wich do you all think would be best for coyote hunting? public land or private land? what whould the pros & conns be of both? i live in oklahoma and have access to both and was trying to decide wich to start hunting first. sorry if these seem like stupid question but i am new to coyote hunting. all imput on this would be appreciated.
Old 12-09-2004, 07:10 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: public land or private land for coyote?

The best land to call coyotes on will depend on several factors, some of which are: IS there calling pressure on the land already?, is there good coyote numbers to start with?, Is there a good food source and cover on the land to hold the coyotes on the land?. In other words, if there is no pressure and there are good numbers and good food source and cover on the land, it doesn't matter if the land is private or public. BUT, in general private is usually better because not everyone takes the time to knock on doors for permission to hunt, where on public they don't need to knock, they just hunt when they want.
Old 12-09-2004, 08:32 AM
Fork Horn

We predator hunt mainly on public land here in northern Mn. We have 1000's of acres to hunt on and the pressure is VERY minimal compared to other states. We have pretty heavily forested areas, so we don't usually get shots of more than 75 yds, so the areas that have been logged work well for us. Granted it's nice to have a couple private "honey holes" to fall back on, but they don't make or break our yote hunting here. Taz
Old 12-09-2004, 12:34 PM