Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Coyote Dens ?

Old 12-23-2003, 09:20 PM

Default Coyote Dens ?

I'm just getting started in yote hunting and was wondering if anyone can tell me how or if you can find a coyote den.I just thought it would help to find out where they live and try to wait on them to come out.Is it hard to hunt over a den?
Old 12-23-2003, 10:46 PM
bhw
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Coyote Dens ?

check the south facing side of a hill for dens. They generally do not use them this time of year... mostly feb,march, april
Old 12-23-2003, 10:48 PM

I've never hunted the den, for some good(?) reasons. Waiting out a wild animal is nearly impossible. Coyotes come out when they want to and not before. Besides, you could be set up on an empty den. They may be out hunting already.
If you call one out of the den and shoot it, the rest will hole up for ever, or until you go away, whichever comes first. Plus, the sound of your shot has just educated the rest of the pack.
I'd set up several hundred yards away from the den when you find one.
My two cents.

critch
Old 12-23-2003, 11:41 PM

Thanks guys.Critch that sounds like good advice and makes perfectly good sense not to set up by a den.Thanks
Old 12-24-2003, 03:39 PM
Nontypical Buck