Community
Small Game, Predator and Trapping From shooting squirrels in your backyard to calling coyotes in Arizona. This forum now contains trapping information.

Calling 'yottes

Old 01-11-2002, 04:34 PM

Default Calling 'yottes

Greetings,

i am new to coyotte hunting, and need some calling advice. I have 0 budget for hunting, and cannot afford to buy any expensive stuff. ( I use a 30-06 rifle cause I cant afford to buy a varmit gun ).
My Call is a really inexpensive open reed "squeeler" as I call it made by Carlton's Calls.. How do I make the call sounds? do I just squeel away with long wails, or is there a technique to it?

Any help is apreciated,

Terry L. Stephens
Old 01-11-2002, 06:13 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Calling 'yottes

go to www.johnnystewart.com on the home page,on the right side click on the listen to our calling sounds link.scroll down to calling sounds and clink on predators.there you will see different predator links,click on them and when the page comes up click on the speaker that says wave under it.although these sounds are short,very short they will give you the general idea of how its supposed to sound.when ever your doing a distress sound just remember that your a dying animal,put emotion into it.also remember to keep each calling sequence fairly short,a rabbit has small lungs.but the best thing you can do is pick up a how to cassette tape,this will teach you every thing you need to know about calling coyotes and fox.there only around 10 bucks(i know your cash flow is limmited)and if you can afford it,it will be money well spent.you should also learn to talk coyote talk,howling and barking.its an important part of coyote huntin.
Old 01-11-2002, 08:31 PM

Small world, Terry. My Dad lives in the same town as you.