Scopes and Sights Discuss firearm scopes, sights and related accessories here.

reddots on a shotgun

Old 09-28-2012, 07:16 AM
  #1  
Spike
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default reddots on a shotgun

Hey Gang,

I've got a bushnell red dot scope on my remington 870. In buying a muzzle loader I was told that red dots don't work so well because of the recoil, they tend to be knocked off requiring resighting. Is this true of shotguns as well? I've had trouble with it the last few years, it always seems to be off even though I take it to the range before hunting. I assumed it was due to user error with the gun rest the first year and different loads shot through it while sighting in the second (cheaper sabbots at the range and the good remington copper solids while hunting). Maybe it gets progressively off with the recoil...

Thoughts?

Don't have access to the gun right now and don't remember the exact model of red dot but it looks like this one (tactical red dot);
http://www.bushnell.com/hunting/rifl...ed-dot/1x-28mm
kargo is offline  
Old 09-28-2012, 01:05 PM
  #2  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Clermont Florida U.S.
Posts: 4,970
Default

Gee, I don't know about that. A good many folks use (with success) red dots on shotguns and muzzleloaders. I'd be more inclined to believe it is scope specific relating to build quality.
bugsNbows is offline  
Old 09-28-2012, 01:33 PM
  #3  
Spike
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks, maybe its the store guys trying to sell me a scope. Who knows...
kargo is offline  
Old 09-28-2012, 04:37 PM
  #4  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,834
Default

Originally Posted by kargo View Post
Hey Gang,

I've got a bushnell red dot scope on my remington 870. In buying a muzzle loader I was told that red dots don't work so well because of the recoil, they tend to be knocked off requiring resighting. Is this true of shotguns as well? I've had trouble with it the last few years, it always seems to be off even though I take it to the range before hunting. I assumed it was due to user error with the gun rest the first year and different loads shot through it while sighting in the second (cheaper sabbots at the range and the good remington copper solids while hunting). Maybe it gets progressively off with the recoil...

Thoughts?

Don't have access to the gun right now and don't remember the exact model of red dot but it looks like this one (tactical red dot);
http://www.bushnell.com/hunting/rifl...ed-dot/1x-28mm
I have had a red dot sight on my wifes 11-87 Priemer 20ga for years with no problems. It is a Tasco PDP2. Stays on spot at 100yds without a question.
Something you said bothers me about this set-up though. You said you shoot the cheaper sabots during range time/sight in, then go to Copper Solids to hunt with. Do you shoot the Copper Solids to make sure they are hitting the same as the cheaper stuff? If not, why not?
SecondChance is offline  
Old 09-29-2012, 09:09 PM
  #5  
Spike
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

SecondChance, you're worry is I think what caused me problems. The different shells produced different results. When I sight in this year I'll keep it to the copper solids I hunt with. That and a properly used gun rest to sight in with and I should be set.

The Muzzle Loader that originally made me think of this question on my slug gun should be at the store ready to pick up, along with a scope... I should be plenty busy before hunting season. Now if I can just find some time to hunt...
kargo is offline  
Old 11-09-2012, 07:21 AM
  #6  
Nontypical Buck
 
Buckhunter46755's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,083
Default

I also have a Tasco PDP2 on my Mossy 500 I use for Turkey hunting and later for longer range squirrel shots with a standard 6 shot shell (works great by the way with the undertaker choke in it. Especially early season with all the leaves on the trees). So far it has held zero just fine. I would say since it can handle the recoil of a 3" magnum turkey load, it should handle most ML loads. Some of the super cheap RD scopes may not perform as well. (not saying that the PDP2 is expensive, but it does seem to be fairly decent RD for the price.) I think I paid $30 shipped for it off eBay several years ago. I've also used it on my AK-47 with good results.

Last edited by Buckhunter46755; 11-09-2012 at 07:24 AM.
Buckhunter46755 is offline  
Old 11-26-2012, 02:58 PM
  #7  
Boone & Crockett
 
bronko22000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 11,625
Default

I have a Cabelas (Bushnell) multi-reticle red dot on my grandson's 20 ga 870 youth model and I like that set up so much I got the same thing for myself. Once sighted in, if the dot is on the target, you got it. No more overshooting that gobbler.
bronko22000 is offline  
Old 11-27-2012, 06:06 AM
  #8  
Fork Horn
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 188
Default

I've been using red dots (Tasco, Aimpoint, Bushnell, ATN) on shotguns and rifles for 20+ years now.
Never had an issue with the sights themselves, had some issued with the mounts being loose. once tightened all was good again.
Major Woods is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.