HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Reloading (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/reloading-15/)
-   -   bullet performance post (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/reloading/43374-bullet-performance-post.html)

Vapodog 12-03-2003 07:26 PM

RE: bullet performance post

I guess we live and learn....I'm staying with the Swift A-Frames........at least in my .30 calibers......it's served me well so far.....

Stone Cold 12-04-2003 12:41 PM

I want to put my vote against the Nosler Partitions also......

I shoot the 7mm Ultra Mag with 140 grn. bullets.......two does....35 yards.....went through the shoulder and did not exit or show blood. I have both bullets. The deer only went 20 yards but I expected more out ot the bullet. I started shooting them in the head. I killed one last weekend, 150 yards in the head....it dropped and the bullet exited......

As soon as I can finish these shells, I will either reload or hope that other manufacturers make the cartridge.

tabby 12-04-2003 10:53 PM

This experience wasn't done on a deer, but worth while none the less.

Over the summer we were blowing propane bottles up by shoothing them next to a small fire. Using Nosler Ballistic Tips, there was a 3 inch exit hole. Spitzers (dont know what co.), the exit hole was the same size as entrence.

I have also noticed better bullet expansion, quicker killing, and more blood with Balistic Tips as Nosler Partitions.

Balistic Tips for me, all the way.

speyrjb 12-06-2003 01:59 PM

I'm not sure I'm justified in feeling this way but this is my 2 cents.