Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
 Fireformed vs. Full Length Resize for 2 Guns >

Fireformed vs. Full Length Resize for 2 Guns

Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Fireformed vs. Full Length Resize for 2 Guns

Old 10-20-2007, 12:41 AM

Default Fireformed vs. Full Length Resize for 2 Guns

I ran into a similar situation as ChazyKEJ posted (Problems with sized brass...) and would like see a poll started on the question below.

I have been reloading 7mm-08 for 2-3 years for my Encore pistol and .44 mag for 5 years. I recently purchased a Savage Striker in 7mm-08 and took both pistols to the range to sight in. I started with the Encore and shot factory and handloads before switching to the Striker. I ran into a little problem when I went to use my handloads in the striker,the cartridge wouldn't chamber all the way. Because I have only used the Encore for my 7mm-08 reloads I never had to worry about resizing the length of the case (they were fireformed to fit the Encore). When I got home, I ran some cases through the full length resizing die and they fit fine in the striker. But now I have a decision to make and would like to hear what others do in this situation...

The question: Is it better to resize and have all uniform 7mm-08 cartridges on hand or is it better to get more life and performance out of the cases by fireforming the rounds to each gun and keeping the rounds separate?

I appreciate your shared experience and thoughts with rationale to explain your thinking,

Thanks,
J
Old 10-20-2007, 06:49 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Fireformed vs. Full Length Resize for 2 Guns