Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
 7mm Ultra mag, need help >

7mm Ultra mag, need help

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

7mm Ultra mag, need help

Old 08-21-2006, 05:25 PM
Spike

Default 7mm Ultra mag, need help

I've got a Sako 75 with a E.R. Shaw barrel chambered in Remington 7mm ultra mag. Gun does not group to my liking shooting the factory 175 grain A frames. The only other offering in factory ammo is a 140grain, which I believe would be too small for my upcoming elk hunt this fall. At $45/box and poor performace a friend with reloading equipment is going to help me out. I'm having trouble finding data for this round would like any help out there. Overall I'm not happy with this chambering for the non-reloader. I made a mistake having it rechamber from 7mmSTW to it's current ultra-mag. Being a novice I wanted to lighten up the gun a bit and went for a lighter fluted barrel, and while I was at it I would have it chambered for this hot new cartridge from Remington. Well the cartridge is not selling from what I can tell and here I sit. Kind of dug my own grave I guess. Any help would be appreciated. I'm am planning on loading up some Barnes triple shoch x bullets with a recommended powder. What do you think of the bullet and grain weight for elk? Thanks
Old 08-21-2006, 07:44 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: 7mm Ultra mag, need help

I have seen the results of elk and moose killed with the 140gr tsx and they performed very well.I own two 7mmstws and a 7mmultramag,and I find that the ultramag case really doesn't add much with the 7mm bullets.
Old 08-28-2006, 12:43 PM

Have your buddy reload some 154gr Hornady Interbonds. They group great in my 7RUM and are plenty of bullet for elk.

They are also selling 150 Scirrocco factory loads. I think that would also be plenty of bullet for your elk hunt.
Old 08-28-2006, 02:03 PM