Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Midwest
 Indiana having new hunting laws for next year >

Indiana having new hunting laws for next year

Community
Midwest OH, IN, IL, WI, MI, MN, IA, MO, KS, ND, SD, NE Remember the Regional Forums are for Hunting Topics only.

Indiana having new hunting laws for next year

Old 12-16-2003, 05:02 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Indiana having new hunting laws for next year

I heard Indiana making some changes in the hunting laws. Has anyone heard of anything? A buddy and I were talking about it he said, a lot of states are making it a law you have to shoot a doe before a buck. I think that sounds like a good law Indiana should have. What does everyone else think?
Old 12-17-2003, 06:01 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Indiana having new hunting laws for next year

As a fellow resident I would agree . The herd would be better managed , there would be less pressure on the bucks , and the chances of taking a trophy buck a few years down the road would be greatly increased . Managing the does by zone would also help in the problem counties .

As a fellow resident you know that it ain't gonna happen . Until the general hunting public understands and accepts that there's nothing wrong with shooting does , and their part in DNR's herd management goals , it will be awhile before DNR gets the stones to make them take does first . Kentucky has already told their hunters that if they don't take enough does this year that they won't issue buck tags next year in certain zones according to several folks that I spoke with while hunting down there this past month .

The drop in tag purchases would be huge , many folks just won't shoot a slickhead , even if it was the only chance they would have to take a buck . DNR couldn't take that kind of revenue loss without making it up somewhere else .
Old 12-17-2003, 12:00 PM