Community
Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

Knife question

Old 07-19-2015, 02:03 PM
Spike

Default Knife question

I'm very new to hunting but will be shooting and processing a few wild pigs soon. I'm looking for 1-2 knives, fixed blade, durable, easy to sharpen, easy to use. My plan is to field dress. Then skin, quarter, joint at home.

Can I do all of this with 1 knife? Any recommendations for knife and sharpening tool?
Old 07-19-2015, 02:17 PM
Fork Horn

Default Knife

It is very do able with 1 knife I use a buck knife of Alaska with the serrated blade and gut hook just my personal choice. I also keep a little shapener in my bag. It's a smiths I think it small yellow and cost like 3 bucks but it brings the edge back quick. I've skinned and quartered several hogs at a time and had no issues. Good luck
Old 07-19-2015, 02:33 PM
Boone & Crockett

Recommend a Case Sharks tooth. Not too big, takes and holds a good edge better than Buck knives and only 5" long closed and 8" open. Comes with good belt sheath. Not a fixed blade but I have been using one for over 20 years. I can't begin to tell you how many deer breast bones I have cut through with it. Lifetime guarente.
Old 07-19-2015, 04:32 PM
Nontypical Buck

I would recommend a knife with a non slip grip on it. While those Case Sharks are great blades, they get slickern snot when bloody. Oldtimr and I grew up in an era way before non slip grips and learned the hard way (at least I did) about knife work. Gerber makes some fixed blades with excellent non slip grips and Gerber blades are hard to beat for holding an edge. I have an ancient Baron fixed with a Solingen German blade that has seen countless Big and Small game that hasn't left my side for 45 years. But that bone handle is slick as can be when gutting. Gotta hold ya mouth right
Old 07-19-2015, 08:32 PM
Nontypical Buck