Hogs and Exotics Gun or bow, you can stretch your season and fill the freezer with wild hogs and an assortment of exotics.

Hog Advice

Old 09-30-2010, 07:36 AM
Super Moderator

Default Hog Advice

Hey Everyone,

Looks like I have a hog hunt planned in florida for this december. It's private land and it sounds like a pretty good chance of seeing hogs. So, on to my questions.

I've been hunting deer for ten years now. And I've always butchered my own, my dads, my grandpas, my sisters. Pretty much everyones. I enjoy it, and I've done over a hundred deer. Can I butcher my own hog and get decent cuts? Is it way different than a deer? Or should I just get it processed to get good stuff made?

Also....If I should get it processed....It's a 16 hour drive from where Im hunting to where I live. COuld I skin it, pack it in ice and make the drive? And about how much does it cost to get a hog cut up and made into bacon or whatever it is they do to them.

I'm totally clueless on this subject, so ALL opinions and advice will be appreciated!
thanks!
-Jake
Old 09-30-2010, 08:55 AM
Fork Horn

If you can process a deer, then you won't have any problems with a hog. I hang mine and field dress and skin. I take the shoulders, ribs, loins and tenderloins, and hams. In warm weather, I cut the skin on the back, and take the loins and hams. The hogs, coyotes and buzzards share the rest.
Old 09-30-2010, 12:14 PM
Super Moderator

What do you do witht he meat? Just cook or roast it as is? Or do you smoke it or marinate it or something first? Also, how can I get bacon made??
-Jake
Old 10-01-2010, 04:37 AM
Spike

hi there most processing places around here wont take a wild hog because of the **** they carry like a tape worm that is hard to kill if u get it the meat is really good just make sure u cook it all the way through good luck on ur hunt and if u dont get a good hog there email me and i can hook u up
Old 10-01-2010, 08:17 PM
Fork Horn