Community
Hogs and Exotics Gun or bow, you can stretch your season and fill the freezer with wild hogs and an assortment of exotics.

Finding the hogs

Old 10-10-2005, 04:13 PM

Default Finding the hogs

How do you go about finding good areas with and what do you look for when you are looking for good areas, im totally new to hog hunting never hunted anything but deer, elk, and birds but never hogs how does a guy go about scouting them where do they like to hang out. any input is much apreciated.
Old 10-10-2005, 06:45 PM

Default RE: Finding the hogs

look for swampy land with cypress ponds and creeks. lots of oak trees or farm fields. look for soil turned up like a tractor was there. they will make diffenet trails to and from feed to bedding areas.

Old 10-10-2005, 06:49 PM
Dominant Buck

What Tree Climber said and if there is a fresh Wallow
you will definitely know!
Old 10-10-2005, 07:06 PM
Nontypical Buck

It kinda depends on where you hunt. I'm in Ca. and we don't get much swamp land around here. I recently returned to hog hunting after a long lay off, but if it's been dry, just look for a year round water source. Then, when you find the water, you will probably find the trails that tree climber was talking about. In the early morning, set up around the water hole. If that doesn't produce, then follow the trails and look for fresh off shoot trails. This might lead to bedding. In Ca. they love chapparel bush. They tend to follow it almost everywhere they go. It can get thick, but if you jump them, they will spring to open ground. In my experience, much like most animals, if you can't find water (especially in dry months) you won't find game. Good luck, if you post your location, people in your area would probably jump in with their tactics.
Old 10-10-2005, 10:31 PM
Fork Horn