Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Need some advice >

Need some advice

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Need some advice

Old 12-25-2004, 09:40 PM

Default Need some advice

My wonderful wife gave me a new winchester model 70 .243 for Christmas!! Now what I am needing to know is:

1) what scope do you guys suggest?

2)what ammo do you suggest (manufacturer, grain, etc.)?

I will mostly be varmint hunting (coyotes). Thanks for any advice you can give, and Merry Christmas!
Old 12-25-2004, 09:55 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Need some advice

nice gun... Should be good for 'yotes...

I am not too good with grain bullets, but my guess is that they should have a varmint round in .243 and that should work for coyotes.

As for the scope, it depends on how much you want to spend and what distance you will be hunting. Probably a 3-9 or 4-12 would be good.

In the "cheap" realm (<$125) I would look at the Simmons Aetec

In the "moderate" realm ($150-300) I would look at a Burris FF2 (offered with a free spotting scope), A Sightron SII, or a Bushnell Elite 3200.

In the "expensive" realm (>$300) I would look at a Nikon Monarch UCC, Bushnell Elite 4200, or a Zeiss Conquest.

Good luck!
Old 12-26-2004, 07:54 AM

I like the Tasco Varmint/Mil dot scope.Cheap but very effective.It is 6-24x.I hunt with 10x or less,but at the range you gotta have magnification....12x isn`t enough power for me at 100 yds shooting targets.These scopes are less than $100.Love the mil-dot system.

This is my 243

I haven`t shot factory ammo in centerfire for a few years now.Wasn`t impressed with it.But if I were to shoot factory....the Remington Premiere Varmint would be a good choice probably.Whatever you get,buy at least 5 boxes with the same lot number on the box.I would stay in the 70-75grain bullet range for varmints....I dont care for the 55-58gr bullets.