Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Need Advice (archery advice) >

Need Advice (archery advice)

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Need Advice (archery advice)

Old 05-08-2007, 08:33 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Need Advice (archery advice)

Ok, I'm in dire need of a new string. So my choices are:

let a local shop put a custom WC string/cables on me for $125+ and be done.

OR

I can get an apple bow press for under $200 (or a ratchet style for less than $50) and then get either a Gibblet or WC string/cables.

I like the idea of having my own setup so i can do my own work, but i've never done this level of work before and im worried i'll screw it up. Also, i've never successfully served a string, ive got the tool, but havnt found a good description of how to apply.

So what do you suggest, and if you recommend doing it myself, how difficult will it be???

Thanks,
Ed
Old 05-08-2007, 09:02 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Need Advice

i put a serving on my dads bow a year ago at my proshop. he taught me how and it is quite simple. you need a bow press to do it tho[&:]
Old 05-08-2007, 12:33 PM
Boone & Crockett

Gibblet and a press, there is so much more you can do with a press other than change your strings and look at the investment end of it. A press is priceless at times....
Old 05-08-2007, 12:52 PM
Giant Nontypical

I agree with Rob... I use my press all the time, and I've yet to change a string with it! Of course, I'm constantly setting up new bows. I use it mostly to intall peeps and change out string leeches.
Old 05-08-2007, 02:19 PM
Nontypical Buck

I got a press and get ALL my stuff from John (Gibblet). I actually have to get the colors together for my wifes bow and get another set ordered from him.
Old 05-08-2007, 02:54 PM
Nontypical Buck

Would you suggest an Apple press, or one of the ratchet presses?