Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Buying first rifle >

Buying first rifle

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Buying first rifle

Old 03-06-2013, 09:48 PM
Spike

Default Buying first rifle

Hi,

I'm new to HuntingNet and was hoping to get some feedback from other members on some rifles. I am in the market for my first rifle. Details below.

I've settled on the .30-06 caliber and have a budget of around $1,000 for gun & scope. I would rather not spend the lot but don't want to skimp on quality. This is my first rifle but I want quality that will last a long time.

Looking at both new and used guns, probably leaning more towards a classic Rem 700 or Winchester. I saw a nice 700 from the late 1970s with a 2-7 Leupold scope for $850, I really have no clue what these old rifles are worth. The Tikka T3 Hunter has also caught my eye, I like its trigger, bolt, and overall fit; however I am not a fan of the plastic parts.

Desired Features (in order, aside from the obvious, fit & accuracy):
-Trigger (good trigger, don't know terminology)
-Smooth Bolt
-Wood Stock
-Weight, I hike a lot
-Detachable Magazine
-Stainless barrel

Models I didn't particularly like the fit, but haven't excluded:
-Ruger American
-New Remington 700
-Savage 111 (liked fit/trigger but not bolt/quality) Also shot this gun in .270 and didn't like too much
-Weatherby Vanguard Synthetic (might like wood stock)

Don't like, just don't fit me
-Marlin X7
-Howa 1500
-Ruger M77

Thanks for reading my short story and for any advise.
Old 03-07-2013, 03:15 AM
Typical Buck