Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Weatherby Vanguard 2 : 338 win mag vs 300 win mag >

Weatherby Vanguard 2 : 338 win mag vs 300 win mag

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Weatherby Vanguard 2 : 338 win mag vs 300 win mag

Old 11-14-2012, 09:34 PM
Spike

Default Weatherby Vanguard 2 : 338 win mag vs 300 win mag

Hi,
I am going to buy my first rifle ever and I am pretty new to this (guns, hunting etc) but since I now live in the Yukon I figured it was the time to start what I wanted to do for years.
Anyway, so I know I want to buy the Weatherby Vanguard and I thought I knew I wanted a .300 win mag. But then today, the firearm officer (I got my licence today) suggested I should go for the .338 and I guess he knows what he is talking about, so now I am confused again.
So I was wondering if you guys could help me.
Considering
Recoil
Price of ammunition
killing power (I want an all north america games gun including bisons)
Distance
Accuracy
And versatility in terms of games (lets says from sheep to bison)
What caliber would you choose?
Since I am knew to this, recoil is my biggest concern as it might be unpleasant and affect my accuracy right?
Thanks you very much
JSC

Last edited by jenseb99; 11-15-2012 at 12:06 AM.
Old 11-15-2012, 02:58 AM
Fork Horn

Starting with a heavy recoiling rifle for your very first is going to be tough for me to recommend. Look at the shelves of the local stores and see which caliber is most available and what brands and bullet weights they come in. They are both good calibers. Maybe you could find someone who has both rifles and would let you shoot them so you could decide which one you could shoot.