Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
sighting in problems ??????? >

sighting in problems ???????

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

sighting in problems ???????

Old 02-28-2010, 04:53 AM
Fork Horn

Default sighting in problems ???????

i dony get what the problem is i just got a new 22 250 and i sighted it in at 80 yards in my back yard and set it 3 inches high at 80 then shot it this mornin at 150 and 200 and it was 9 to 10 inches high its grouping very well but i figured it would shoot lower at a longer distance it dosent make sense to me me but im a very novice shooter , you pros got any advice on what the deal is
Old 02-28-2010, 06:21 AM
Fork Horn

so dose that mean if i shoot at a coyote at less than 100 yards i have to aim 8 inches low
Old 02-28-2010, 06:30 AM
Typical Buck

I sight my 22-250 in at .7" high at a hundred. It's dead on at 200 yards with that particular load. And It makes it comparable to my other hunting rifles and loads so I'm not doing much brain work when it comes to hold overs at longer ranges. A preprogrammed brain is better than gadgets when it comes to hunting, especially when time is critical on making a shot.

Plus a 22-250 is one of the flatter calibers out there you don't need to sight it in very high to obtain max point blank range for shooting. I've noticed if I stick around a 200yard sight in, it tends to more consistant 300-500 yard kills on varmits. Most times if your crosshairs are not on hair you shooting beyond 350 yards with a 22-250. So thats when knowing your rifles trajectory is crucial beyond that range. Especially on a 9" body of a coyote. I only average around 2 out of 5 kills on running coyotes up to 400 yards so if your like me and like driving around shooting yotes you'll want simplicity vs complicated scopes and gadgets.