Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 ? for you speed goat hunters >

? for you speed goat hunters

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

? for you speed goat hunters

Old 07-29-2008, 07:06 PM
Typical Buck

Default ? for you speed goat hunters

this is my first year hunting lopes and needing some adivce on which 308round will work best for the long range shot that will most likely take place. i know 308 may be a hair to big but it is the gun i shoot the best. any help would be appreciated.
JSS.
Old 07-29-2008, 07:09 PM
Super Moderator

Default RE: ? for you speed goat hunters

They aren't that hard to put down so any bullet your gun prefers will do just fine.
Old 07-29-2008, 08:04 PM
Nontypical Buck

Also, you don't have to neccesarilyexpect long range shots on antelope. Of course if you'd want you could take some long range shots, but generally because of the broken topography in areas they live you should easily be able to sneak within 200 yds or lessif you pay attention and use the landscape to your advantage. You'll be able to see them at long range and plan a stalk (and if you blow it, there's always another antelope)
Old 07-29-2008, 08:38 PM
Typical Buck

hillbilly you are about the 4th person to say that last comment. is there really that many out there?
this is my first out of state big game hunt. want to have everything perfect for it. any other ideas on bullet selection i dont want to put a huge hole in it. the only shell i have put through my savage model 12 are umc's(cheap) so i dont know what else shoots decent but that all they sell around here so i will be ordering what ever shell i need.
Old 07-29-2008, 09:18 PM
Nontypical Buck

hillbilly you are about the 4th person to say that last comment. is there really that many out there?