Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Ruger 10/22 beginner >

Ruger 10/22 beginner

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Ruger 10/22 beginner

Old 08-26-2007, 08:55 AM
Fork Horn

Default Ruger 10/22 beginner

I am looking at getting a Ruger 10/22 and customizing it with a thumbhole stock and getting the best barrel I can get. I have a couple questions though because I am very new to this gun what is the best cartridge for it? I want to have some range so I thought about going to the 22 mag. If I went with that what barrel should I get? Whats the best twist rate? Will a 17 caliber be more accurate? I am really looking to just having some fun with this but who knows if its real accurate maybe I will do some plinking.
Old 08-26-2007, 09:40 AM
Spike

Default RE: Ruger 10/22 beginner

.22 rifles are usually a little finicky about what ammo they like. Your best bet is to re-barrel it, free float the stock, put in a target hammer and increased power spring, and then go out and shoot a bunch of different types of ammo to see what works well in your rifle.

My 10/22 (with the above mods) shoots Wolf match .22LR into one-hole groups at 25 yards all day.

Old 08-27-2007, 07:50 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Ruger 10/22 beginner

Firs, if you want .22 mag or the .17 HMR you'll need the 10/22M not the standard and currently available 10/22. The regualr 10/22 can be converted to .17M2 though. Now then...
Having played the 10/22 game for quitea while, completed 4 builds andin the midst of 4 other builds I can say your best bet is to go to www.Rimfirecentral.com and read, read, search and read. ANYTHING 10/22 has been asked and answered there more than once. It's THE home for 10/22 anything.