Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Fishing Forum > Freshwater Fishing
 ice fishing for trout?? >

ice fishing for trout??

Community
Freshwater Fishing Discussion of all aspects of freshwater fishing.

ice fishing for trout??

Old 02-08-2004, 05:01 PM
jjt

Default ice fishing for trout??

I recently got into ice fishing and am enjoying the he!! out of it

I have caught several lake trout and done some perch/walleye fishing

my question is how do you catch the rainbows,browns, and the cutthroats
i know they are in the lake cuz i see the guys leaving with them

i have asked a few of them for tips, explaining i am new to the sport but have ran into some people that were not so generous with info[:'(]

so i am asking you guys/gals here
i dont want your secret bait (unless you want to give it out)
but i would like to know

#1. how deep of water do you fish?
#2. do you use a jig or just bait a hook and drop it to the bottom?
#3. how far of the bottom is a good place to start jigging?
#4. what type of jigs are good?

thank you for any help you can give me
Old 02-08-2004, 08:33 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: ice fishing for trout??